My Courses For This Semester


          Today, I finally registered my courses for this semester. In order to graduate, I have to complete a minimum of 40 credits, which shall consist of:

  • 1 university compulsory course (3 credits)
    – Dynamics of Leadership
  • 2 faculty compulsory courses (2 x 4 credits)
    Research Methods in Education I
    Statistics Application in Educational Research I
  • 4 core courses (4 x 3 credits)
    Introduction to Evaluation and Measurement
    – Testing in Teaching and Guidance
    – Program Evaluation
    – Application of Measurement and Evaluation in Research
  • 3 elective courses (3 x 3 credits)
    – Supervision in Education
    – Current Issues in Educational Measurement and Evaluation
    – Introduction to Scaling and Instrumentation
  • Masters project (2 x 4 credits)
    – Research Study 1
    – Research Study 2

For this semester, I will be doing 5 courses, namely…

  1. Research Methods in Education I
  2. Statistics Application in Educational Research I
  3. Introduction to Evaluation and Measurement
  4. Programme Evaluation
  5. Supervision in Education

          In other words, I’ll be taking 17 credit hours for this semester. I wonder if that is too much for one semester? Any advice?

          Today, I also went to UTM for my faculty briefing. The Head of Department mentioned that our faculty has the most number of post-grad students. That’s a good sign, isn’t it? I believe that teachers should be life-long learners. In fact, everyone of us, regardless of our professions, should keep on learning till our very last breath.

          Many turned up for the Faculty of Education briefing, BUT when we broke up into our respective programs, I was shocked that there were only SEVEN of us taking Measurement and Evaluation (perhaps some could not make it for the briefing today). I’d been forewarned that this is a tough field. A few of my colleagues said it was a “killer” subject, and thus it’s understandably not favoured by most.

          I chose this field because my dear mentor during my degree years is an expert in Assessment and Evaluation and her passion has rubbed off on me. Besides, I believe that expertise in this field would serve me well since we are heading towards formative or on-going assessment. In 2016, PMR will be replaced with school-based assessment. Thus, I have solid reasons for taking Measurement and Evaluation instead of TESL, but the question remains – can I rise up to the challenge? Am I up to it?

Let me end this post with one of my favourite poems…

The Road Not Taken
by Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim
Because it was grassy and wanted wear,
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I-
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

          Wish me success and may you be generous with your prayers. I will give my best effort and trust God to carry me through this endeavour. Cheers~

2 responses to “My Courses For This Semester

  1. Hi Cheryl,
    Indeed people are scared of this field because it is tough but we need experts. Without good assessment, the whole curriculum crumbles down. When I took up this course, everyone said ” gonna kill you off esply if you are not a science option” But I survived and found it interesting eventhough under a Prof who is so mathemetical and science based. You must have the passion. This course always have the least no. of students.

Leave a Reply

