Look Back and Plan Ahead


Well, I know it’s rather “late” to be talking about new year resolutions. Blame it on assignments and final exams which ended just days before Chinese New Year. Now that the festivities are over and everyone’s back to work, I can finally find time to pen down my plans, hopes and aspirations for this year. But before we jump ahead to 2012, let’s just take some time to look back and reflect on the ups and downs of 2011.

I moved to Johore in December 2010 to be with Kiate. Our first year living together as husband and wife was simply wonderful. There’s no other man that I’d rather spend the rest of my life with – he is truly the one for me! Living under one roof for the past 14 months has allowed us to get to know each other better. In fact, I believe he knows me better than I know myself now. One thing for sure, our love has grown deeper. Thank you hubby for being who you are – a great man who loves God wholeheartedly. You’re always kind, patient, loving, romantic, responsible, trustworthy, considerate, tolerant, ……. You’re the best! *It’s great to be together with Kiate (finally!) but I do get homesick and miss my family from time to time.

In terms of my career, I’m glad that I made the decision to take unpaid study leave to pursue my Masters degree. I’m really grateful that my husband and family fully support my pursuit. Although it means going back to zero income, it is necessary for me to take a break from teaching so that I can regain my bearings. I entered the teaching profession all fired up to change the world and to make a difference in the lives of my students. However, I wasn’t fully prepared for the reality out there. Into my second year of teaching, I hit the pit bottom when all my ideals were shattered. It was not so much the paperwork, but rather the frustration over the lack of motivation on the students’ part. And it broke my heart to discover my books and money stolen at school on several occasions.  I was deeply disappointed when students whom I trusted lied to me. It was also not pleasant to have students angry at me for reprimanding them and taking disciplinary actions against them. Little things added up and I couldn’t help but wonder whether I had it in me to be a teacher. I lost confidence in myself and was depressed. I had two choices – either to stay on until the end of the year to fulfill my bond and then leave the service for good OR to take a break from teaching and hopefully come back rejuvenated and better prepared. I chose the latter. Somehow, deep within me I know I still love teaching and I cherish the relationships that I have with my students. I do not want to give up so easily.

I’m currently pursuing a Masters degree in Education, majoring in Measurement and Evaluation.  It feels awesome to be back in university and be a student again, for a change. My lecturers and course mates are nice and helpful. I fell in love with Statistics and I enjoyed sitting for exams. I’m weird, I know. Anyway, I’ve just completed my first semester and the result will be out in two weeks’ time.

As for my spiritual life, I thank God for His faithfulness. Over the Easter weekend, He opened my eyes to see and understand why He allowed me to go through the valleys. And looking back, I can boldly testify that during my darkest hours, He never left me nor forsook me. He sent different ones to encourage and help me along the way. He provided a way out for me. And I’m forever thankful for the second chances. 

No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it. (1 Corinthians 10:13)

I’m currently attending a bilingual service at Church of Praise, Bukit Indah and I have the opportunity to serve as an interpreter. It is one ministry that I can serve together with Kiate. I need him to read the sermon notes (in Chinese) for me so that I can translate it to English. It’s awesome to be serving together.

So if I were to sum up the year 2011, I would say that it was a year of RESTORATION and FRESH BEGINNINGS. So what are my plans and aspirations for 2012?

1) Buy our first home
2) S
tart a family of our own (ehem.. ehem.. *wink*)
3) Complete my Masters
4) Tour Taiwan
5) Read and write more
6)
Prepare myself for going back to school in 2013!



 

2 responses to “Look Back and Plan Ahead

  1. Oh dear…there’s no other woman who can be so patient with me too. I’m thankful for having you as my life partner, to love and to cherish… =)
    Look forward to fulfil the 2012 plan with you! Love ya~

  2. Pingback: PRESS ON… | into.her.world

Leave a Reply

