DIY Foot Prints (II)


Diary of a SAHM – Day 475

In my previous post (in May ‘14), I shared about my experience making DIY hand and foot prints with Joshayne when he was around 1 year old. It was a memorable project; unfortunately, though, I had to throw them away after a few months because I noticed mold growing on them. Yucks! It was a pity indeed.

I tried again recently. This time I used the recommended ratio of 2:1:1, i.e. 2 parts flour to 1 part salt and 1 part water. I also added a few drops of yellow food colouring, a pinch of cinnamon powder and some mixed herb to add artistic texture to the final product. I was really happy with the outcome. Ta-daa….

IMG_20150619_102103

This time around, I made sure that I dried the ‘dough’ properly in order to prevent mold infestation. I ‘baked’ it in the oven for over 3 hours at 100 degree Celsius and then dry them under the sun for a few afternoons. And instead of leaving it lying around, exposed, I kept the foot print in a gift box with silica gel nicely ‘hidden’ underneath it.

And finally,… *drumroll*

IMG_20150619_102103

… this was our special Father’s Day gift for Kiate. A memorable baby keepsake!

All in all, I spent less than RM3 on this project (just two pieces of wrapping paper, some flour and salt). The box and cotton were from newborn gift sets I received two years back. The socks, shoes and sandals, which were worn and outgrown by Joshayne, were also gifts from friends. *wink*

P/S Hubby, I hope you like this “priceless” gift. Hehe.

Leave a Reply

