Homemade Tom Yum Paste > Tom Yum Soup and Tom Yum Spaghetti = Yum Yum~


Diary of a SAHM – Day 505

I’d thought of cooking tom yum from scratch for months, but since Kiate wasn’t a big fan of hot and sour food, I lacked the motivation to get to it.  Anyway, after letting it sit on the back burner for so long, I FINALLY took up the challenge and cooked my first pot of tom yam soup (with BIG prawns!) and topped it off with tom yam spaghetti. Yum yum~

And Kiate’s verdict? Well, he enjoyed it (i.e. my milder version) and he actually gave the green light for me to add this to my menu. Yes! Yes! Yes! I doubt that I’d cook this dish often though (prawns are expensive here, especially BIG ones!). Anyway, it feels great to know that I can cook tom yum – another personal milestone for me.

For the tom yam paste, I referred to this recipe from Amcarmen’s Kitchen.

IMG_20150718_124645IMG_20150718_150713

Ingredients for tom yam paste (for future reference):

  • chili paste
  • shrimp paste
  • tamarind pulp water
  • garlic
  • kaffir lime leaves
  • ginger
  • galangal
  • lemongrass
  • red onion
  • brown sugar
  • vegetable oil
  • fish sauce
  • ground coriander
One response to “Homemade Tom Yum Paste > Tom Yum Soup and Tom Yum Spaghetti = Yum Yum~

  1. Pingback: A Summary of 2015 | into.her.world

Leave a Reply

